Hawkes Bay District Health Board

Hawke’s Bay DHB serves a population of 155,000 people, the DHB’s district lies on the east coast of the North Island of New Zealand and includes the populations of the following Territorial Local Authorities:  Wairoa District, Hastings District, Napier City, Central Hawke’s Bay District and Chatham Islands Territory.

Stretching from the north of the Mahia Peninsula to just south of Porangahau and encompassing the Chatham Islands.  In the west the district is bounded by the Ruahine, Huiarau and Ahimanawa ranges and the Pacific Ocean is in the east.

Hawke’s Bay DHB provides an extensive range of acute and elective services through its five hospitals/health centres along with a number of community-based outpatient and mental health services.

Hawke’s Bay Fallen Soldiers’ Memorial Hospital – is a 400 bed accredited facility  and the regional centre for acute services.

Acute Assessment Unit

Assessment Treatment and Rehabilitation Unit

Children’s Ward

Day Surgery Unit

Dialysis Unit

Emergency Department


Mental Health Inpatient Service

Intensive Care Unit

Special Care Baby Unit

Napier Health Centre – A comprehensive range of quality health services for the people of Napier

Wairoa Hospital and Health Centre – Acute ward – there are 11 acute beds for patients needing treatment for a range of illnesses and injuries. Patients are transferred to Hawke’s Bay Hospital for further treatment, if required.


Radiology (x-ray)


Outpatient clinics

Central Hawke’s Bay Health Centre – is located in Waipukurau, providing the community of Central Hawke’s Bay with inpatient, outpatient and community services. Located in the Health Centre are the private practices of four General Practitioners and a physiotherapist.

Chatham Islands Health Centre – Community health services.


Located on the east coast of the North Island, the landscapes of Hawke’s Bay begin with the high, forested Ruahine and Kawkeka Ranges. From the mountains the land sweeps down towards the coast, flattening out to become the Heretaunga Plains. A number of wide rivers run swiftly to meet the Pacific Ocean and glorious beaches which stretch from Mahia in the north to Porangahau in the south. Hawke’s Bay has a Mediterranean climate with long, warm, dry summers with temperatures in the mid 20’s and short, mild winters. The population of the region is approximately 150,000 and when taken together the cities of Napier and Hastings constitute the fifth largest urban area in New Zealand.

Hawke’s Bay has six major urban areas – Hastings, Napier, Havelock North, Taradale, Wairoa and Waipukurau – all with their unique lifestyle options. So you have the choice of living close to the sea, the river, in a picturesque rural setting, in a friendly suburb or in the middle of a small city. Within Hastings and Napier (only 20 minutes apart) there are many suburbs, plus modern expanding subdivisions offering a range of residential housing and welcoming communities. Green areas are held in very high regard by Hawke’s Bay residents, so a community park or garden is never very far away from a residential area.

Hawke’s Bay is home to a world-class concentration of Art Deco architecture with Napier known as the Art Deco capital of New Zealand. It is also the country’s oldest winemaking region and is New Zealand’s leading producer of award winning red wines.

Hawke’s Bay has a near perfect climate and excellent natural resources that provide many opportunities for business and pleasure. From the peace and tranquility offered in rural areas to the bustle of an urban setting, choices abound for those who choose to live and work here.

The cost of living in Hawke’s Bay is relatively low compared to the rest of the country. The region’s plentiful natural resources, abundance of fruit and vegetables, lower housing costs and ease of travel helps keep costs down.